Another new guy from Georgia!

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by campsmoke1955, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. Greetings all!  I have been lurking on this site for weeks and used this particular website to make my decision to buy a Brinkmann Trailmaster Vertical Smoker.  I have been wanting to get into smoking food and it was a tossup between the Weber SM and the Brinkmann.  The Brinkmann was bigger, less expensive and had a true offset firebox which can use wood.  Decision made easy.

    The wife and I live in Cairo, Georgia which is in the southwestern part of the state, about 17 miles north of the Florida state line. I am about 2 years from retirement and decided a hobby involving food would be a useful way to spend time when we're not camping.

    Looking forward to watching and learning.

    - Dave
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2014
  2. bluewhisper

    bluewhisper Master of the Pit OTBS Member

    Welcome to the board! It's laid-back here with lots of advice.
     
  3. dtj16

    dtj16 Smoke Blower

    Hey Camp- I have a Brinkmann horizontal offset stick burner. Few mods done and a few more to go- I love it. Ony been smoking about 3 months. Still learning myself.
     
  4. Hello and welcome to the forum from a hot East Texas. Lots of good people and a ton of  great information

     

      Gary S

     
  5. Glad you joined the group. The search bar at the top of any page is your best friend.
    About anything you wanna know about smoking/grilling/curing/brining/cutting or slicing
    and the list goes on has probably been posted. Remember to post a QVIEW of your smokes.
    We are all smoke junkies here and we have to get our fix. If you have questions
    Post it and you will probably get 10 replies with 11 different answers. That is
    because their are so many different ways to make great Q...
    Happy smoken.
    David
     
  6. dtj16

    dtj16 Smoke Blower

    Qview of my assembled TMLE
     
  7. dtj16

    dtj16 Smoke Blower

    Here's the kicker- in the next photo- an accurate factory therm...
     
  8. dtj16

    dtj16 Smoke Blower

     

Share This Page